Excellence in Teaching

Scholarships & Awards
Dan Tredway

Excellence in Teaching

Rewarding teachers that create excitement about learning.

The Dan Tredway Memorial Excellence in Teaching Award honors teachers who are dedicated to students, committed to the community, and who create a classroom atmosphere which promotes an excitement about learning.

Dan Tredway was a pioneer in rural education, longtime Gunnison resident, and an inspiration to educators and the community.  The fund is a component fund of the Community Foundation of the Gunnison Valley. Read more about Dan Tredway in this article by George Sibley.

Excellence in Teaching Winners

Kathy Garcia

On December 18, 2020, we had the honor of awarding Gunnison Elementary School third grade teacher Kathy Garcia the 2020 Dan Tredway Excellence in Teaching Award. Kathy’s favorite part about teaching is the kids. “I learn as much from them as they learn from me. I love their energy!” she said upon accepting the award.


  • 2021 Lisa Danos
  • 2020 Kathy Garcia
  • 2019 Andy Dunda
  • 2018 Maren Eberly
  • 2017 Kevin Mickelson
  • 2016 Stacey Mickelson
  • 2015 Gregg Smith
  • 2014 Jennifer Kennedy
  • 2013 Erin Vokoun
  • 2012 Marta (Jody) Coleman
  • 2011 Emily Kowal
  • 2010 Bob Howard
  • 2009 Ann Landwehr
  • 2008 Karen Alton
  • 2007 Mary Nordberg
  • 2006 John F.X. McCarthy
  • 2005 Alicia Belgiovane
  • 2004 Leo Malloy
  • 2003 Ellie Ferguson
  • 2002 Kaylonn Tredway
  • 2001 Mark High
Click here to give!